Silence Is The Enemy

Rape is wrong. Regardless of what country it’s happening in.

I doubt anyone disputes that, and I’m sure the majority of my (admittedly meager) readership has heard about this initiative elsewhere in the blogosphere. But just in case you haven’t…

Sheril Kirshenbaum, over at The Intersection, has courageously posted about her own experience with sexual assault, and a primer to the atrocities being commited in Liberia, and all over the world.

She writes:

Today begins a very important initiative called Silence Is The Enemy to help a generation of young women half a world away.Why?  Because they are our sisters and children–the victims of sexual abuse who don’t have the means to ask for help.  We have power in our words and influence. Along with our audience, we’re able to speak for them.  I’m asking all of you–bloggers, writers, teachers, and concerned citizens–to use whatever platform you have to call for an end to the rape and abuse of women and girls in Liberia and around the world.

The facts on the matter are staggering, Sheril continues:

An International Rescue Committee survey suggests 12 percent of girls aged 17 and under acknowledged having been sexually abused in some way over the previous 18 months.  Further, of the 275 new sexual violence cases treated Jan-April by Doctors Without Borders, 28 percent involve children aged 4 or younger, and 33 percent involve children aged 5 through 12. That’s 61% age 12 or under. 

I’d love to say that I’ve always had my finger on the pulse, and that I’ve been doing my part to help end this atrocity from the begining. Sadly, in my cave (the hospital) I’ve heard little of the real world. But just because I haven’t been involved doesn’t mean I can’t become involved. It doesn’t mean you can’t be involved either.

Over the next few days I’ll educating myself about this.  I suggest you all do the same. We live in a world of many problems, and this may not be the biggest problem on your radar right now, but this is a cause that you can help with relatively painlessly: with your clicks

From Sheril’s again:

Silence Is The Enemy was born–so named because we will not be. All through June, I’ll continue posting information, details, benchmarks, and let everyone know about progress made, new initiatives, and stories from the region. I encourage others to do so as possible.  The Intersection, On Becoming A Laboratory And Domestic Goddess, AetiologyBioephemera, Neurotopia, The Questionable Authority, DrugMonkey, and Adventure In Ethics And Science will be donating all revenue this month to Doctors Without Borders.

So click on over to all of those blogs, I’ll be adding a blogroll category: Silence Is The Enemy, to facilitate it.

For those with more time, initiative, or deeper pockets, there’s even more you can do.

  • Social networking: Join the facebook group.
  • Contact your congressperson.
  • Donate money to Silence Is The Enemy’s chosen charity:Doctors without Borders.  I’ll also be adding a link to donate to Doctors without Borders to my sidebar, this is an organization that deserves your support for reasons entirely separate from this issue.

As time permits this month (and lately it doesn’t permit much!) I’ll be posting updates, about what I’ve learned, and anything else pertinent to the issues.

If you or someone you know doesn’t have a blog (or even if you do), but want a voice in this discussion, please email me, my contact information is available on the contact page, and I would love to provide a forum for anyone who wants to constructively contribute.

Explore posts in the same categories: Silence Is The Enemy

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Silence Is The Enemy”

  1. Lisa J Says:

    I came back to see what you said next. Thank you for spreading awareness of a terrible thing… I hope that you get lots of hits on this one.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

